Gardensilly

eeshaun

I met Eeshaun when I was wondering around Orchard Road; Lilaine-less (she was in kl), and lost as usual. At that time, he was doing some work for Adiartist i.e. painting on somebody else’s wall and getting paid for it. Turns out he’s a pretty decent guy – whom I liked even more when he said he’ll draw something for Sunday Morning!

So tell us about your new book
My children’s book ‘The Bird Who Was Afraid of Heights’, written by Farah Bagharib Kaltz , is a book about a bird who’s … afraid of heights. (Eventually, of course, he learns how to fly, but you’ll  have to read the book to find out how he did it). It’s 28 pages long, and is written for children aged 4-6 years. I used two primary colors, blue and yellow, because the sky and mangoes feature predominantly in the book, but also because I wanted the feel of old children story books which had limited color palettes.

Describe your work for Sunday Morning
I’m doing 3 designs: One’s about a talking snake, another’s about a bunch of birds living in someone’s beard, and the last is a family of teardrops, which I’m having a lot of fun drawing.

What do you think of Christian t-shirts?
Most of the t-shirts I’ve seen are very well-designed, funny, witty and sometimes thought-provoking. They also make a lot of references to pop-culture (logos, corporate culture, tv-shows, rock bands, etc), which I’m sure has great appeal for both young people and adults. It makes christianity very relevant and accessible.

And your future plans?
I like living for the moment! In future, I’d be very happy to get my work out to a wider, international audience, so exhibitions abroad would be very nice!

Eeshaun describes himself as “… a self-taught illustrator who enjoys the immediacy of spontaneous and whimsical drawings”. He’s been involved in a host of interesting projects and was recently featured in 20/20, an exhibition celebrating 20 of Singapore’s most creative talents. (My personal invitation must have got lost in the mail). Visit his world here.

Leave a comment